Welcome to the Hudson River Yacht Racing Association

It is hoped that the HRYRA website is a true online meeting place where the racing sailors of the Hudson River can get information, communicate with others and help make our shared passion for sailboat racing more enjoyable. With that in mind you are all invited to help make this internet venture into something that serves your needs. Please let me know what your thoughts are, what things you would like to see on its pages and how we can make this a timely and informative place for the past, present and future members of HRYRA.

Special thanks to Barbara Fitzgerald for the beautiful photos throughout the website.











    For an explanation of the Cox-Sprague Scoring System..... CLICK HERE.

  • 2018 PHRF Splits and Scoring


    Again in 2018, scoring for ALL divisions (spinnaker and non-spinnaker) will use the PHRF Time on Time (ToT) Scoring System.

    If you are interested in how the TCF is calculated and applied, US Sailing offers a comprehensive overview of ToT at: http://www.ussailing.org/racing/offshore-big-boats/rating-rules/#1471969534315-2e06dd00-392d

    Another great explanation comparing ToD and ToT written by Peter Oden, HRYRA Rules and Appeals Chairman, can be found HERE.

    The PHRF Class splits will be the same as 2017. They are......

           Class 1 - PHRF less than 130, with spinnakers

           Class 2 - PHRF greater than 130, with spinnakers

           Class 3 - All without spinnakers


  • All Notices of Race and Sailing Instructions are located under the "PHRF Racing", "One-Design" and "Juniors" tabs
    in the main menu above.
    The fee for a 2017 PHRF certificate / HRYRA membership is $30. CLICK ON THE LINK ABOVE to apply for a new PHRF Certificate, renew an existing PHRF certificate, and submit the $30 payment with PayPal or with a credit card through PayPal.
    Powered by Nirvana & WordPress.